Wednesday, January 06, 2010

Baseball To Announce New Hall of Fame Inductees

At 2PM EST, the class of 2010 inductees to the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown will be announced. Among those with a chance to be enshrined are Andre Dawson, Roberto Alomar, Barry Larkin, Mark McGwire, and Don Mattingly among others.

Alomar has probably the best chance of getting in and could conceivably be the only one among the eligible players. McGwire isn't likely to get the call unless he does something to improve his image in the wake of the steroid scandal mess.

Andre Dawson is the only one to get the call in his ninth year of eligibility. Alomar came up seven votes short [ed: fixed from characterization as "well short"], but Bert Blyleven missed by a total of five votes (at 74.2%). He failed to get 75% of the votes cast needed to be inducted. Blyleven has two more years of eligibility before he would have to rest his hopes on the Veterans Committee.

No comments: